Council Header

Section 340A of the Local Government Act 1993 (the Act) entitles Councillors to allowances as prescribed in regulations.

Mayors and Deputy Mayors are entitled to allowances in addition to those payable to them as Councillors.

Regulation 42(2) of the Local Government (General) Regulations 2015 (the Regulations) specifies the allowances payable to Councillors, Mayors, and Deputy Mayors. The allowances payable from 1 November 2014 are set out in Schedule 4 of the Regulations.

The Tasmanian Industrial Commission (TIC) completed a review into Councillor allowances in April 2018, for more information see the Councillor Allowances Information Sheet below.

  2018 Councillor Allowances Information Sheet