Council Header

Council Elections

Council elections are held every four years and all Councillors, Mayors and Deputy Mayors are elected for four-year terms.

Elections are usually held in October of each election year, with the next local government elections due in 2022.

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission is responsible for supervising Local Government elections and appoints returning officers to run the election.


Council elections are conducted by postal ballot.

There is a polling period of at least ten days (excluding weekends and bank holiday’s).


If you are currently on the State Electoral Roll for your address in the King Island Municipal Area, you are automatically on the Local Government Roll.

To check your enrolment on the Electoral Roll please visit the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) website at and click on the “Check Enrolment” button. An enrolment form can also be obtained from their website, from any post office or by calling the AEC on 132 326.

You are also eligible to enrol on the “General Manager’s Roll” if you: